A smiling stranger 

Standard

So this happened today. 

I boarded one e-rick to get to the metro station to meet some of my very old friends. It was 9 in the morning and was freezing cold. This girl in the picture was sitting right in front of me with her friend. And since I have this really awkward habit of gnashing my teeth for no good reason whatsoever which she mistook as shivering, she abruptly asked me if I was okay and stuff. I said, yes and wasn’t able to make out the reason as to why she asked me the question until she held my hands and said, you’ll be fine my hands are warm.

*Died a little, there.*

We talked and she never stopped smiling even when I gave her condescending looks on coming face to face with the fact that she was a third year student doing Maths honors from Miranda House because Maths and generosity never got along quite well in the history of human behaviour but there she was, adorably balancing both the things. And guess what? Mummy was wrong, not all strangers are bad and you should never ever miss a chance to interact with people who are complete strangers. Also, I was about to thank her but she got off. I kind of miss her already. A stranger who is a friend? Yes.

Another such thing happened when I was on my way back to my hostel, a random uncle just smiled at me like when elder people smile on encountering a little kid in the metro or shopping complexes, just like that. 

Delhi isn’t that bad after all. 

Life is good.

18 thoughts on “A smiling stranger 

  1. Ok. So I’ve read it. I admire your honesty in narrating this incident. Indeed, such warm act is like a boon on a chilly day.

    But what I don’t quite get is ‘Maths and generosity’ part? Did you face irksome classmates who excelled in Maths but refused to help in school days?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

